top of page
Paint Cans

Art Theory Through Julian

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Search
  • Julian

Dreamhouse


Today I'd like to talk about a struggle I came across when doing the Dreamhouse project. Here was the sketch of what I was going for when building my dream house. My dream house would be a converted lighthouse at the edge of a cliff overlooking an ocean. I've always wanted a chimney so I added on one there too.






At this point in my process, I had constructed the main structure, roof, door, and chimney using Tinkercad. But I felt as I still needed the finishing touches on the windows.










My first attempt was to just use two separate reshaped cube blocks to create the window panels so I started by adding one to an open space on the plane.














I resized the block to be really long and thin. I did this so that I could flip it horizontally and it would have enough "material" to work with when inserting it into the house. This way I would have available space on the block to select it without losing it inside the house.












After inserting the block into the window and struggling with getting the block to angle correctly and fit into the circle nicely, I decided that this way of creating window panels would take way too long to get straight with another block overlaid into that one as well. I had to come up with something easier, and that's when it hit me.










I saw the text blocks in the options for block and that's when I figured it out. I could use the + symbol and it would fit perfectly into the circles I placed for the windows since they were equal on all sides.













I placed the block onto an open space on the plane to resize it. I kept it at the default red this time so that I could see where it touched the circle.















I rotated the block and sized it down so that I could fit it into the window. I didn't make it as long this time because I felt it wasn't as necessary and I had gotten the hang of it.














After placing it, I angled the block as close as I could to the circle until I felt comfortable with it. Then I changed the color to go with the window color.
















Feeling confident in my practice of window making now, I repeated the previous steps to fill in the second window.














The time had come to finish the last window. This one would be overlooking both the land and the ocean, so it would have to be long enough to go through the entire house.














In the end, I felt very satisfied with the way my lighthouse dream house came out. I mix matched the big window with the lower ones because I found it more aesthetically pleasing.














Here's a shot of the back which would overlook the ocean. I had scaled the windows in a way in which I wanted to be able to stand pretty much entirely in the window pane. I really felt that Tinkercad's ease of use and many tools and kinds of blocks helped me greatly in designing a house I would want to live in. It really would be a great activity for children who could manage the controls. It would help them express their creativity and build something they could only dream of.

Contact

500 Terry Francois Street San Francisco, CA 94158

123-456-7890

Working on a Pottery Wheel
Home: Contact
bottom of page